.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

About Us

In 1955 in Indian Hills, the need for a source of information for a growing mountain community gave rise to a monthly newspaper called Smoke Signals. Backed financially by the Indian Hills Fire Department, Smoke Signals started on a shoestring but grew steadily along with the community. Within six months of the paper’s creation, the Inter-Canyon and Idledale departments were also pitching in, and advertising revenues began to grow.

In October 1958, under editor and publisher Vern Manning, Smoke Signals became the Canyon Courier, an independent weekly newspaper. The Courier started with an ambitious goal: covering all news “from U.S. 40 on the north to Bailey and beyond on the south, and from Mount Evans to the east Jefferson County line.”

No one could have predicted in the late ’50s how Evergreen and that entire area would grow in population, until finally many mountain communities had distinct identities and sizable populations of their own.

Today, the Courier focuses more tightly on the Evergreen area, which has grown to become a large, thriving and economically diverse community. Our two sister newspapers — the Clear Creek Courant (Clear Creek County) and the Columbine Courier (South Jeffco) — now report on many of the areas that the original Canyon Courier sought to cover.

Our goal as newspapers remains the same, however: unite our communities with a reliable and local source of information, advertising and — now — online content.

Thanks for reading.

How to contact us:
Office hours: We are in an out of the office, so calling and leaving a message is your best option.

Main phone number: 303-674-5534

Mailing Address:

27902 Meadow Drive, Suite 250, Evergreen, CO 80439

Physical Address:
27902 Meadow Drive, Suite 250, Evergreen, CO 80439

Publisher:
Kristin Witt 303-350-1049
kristin@evergreenco.com

Editorial Department:
Editor: Michael Hicks 303-350-1039
mhicks@evergreenco.com

News Editor: Deb Hurley Brobst 303-350-1041
deb@evergreenco.com

Staff writer: Sal Christ 303-350-1035
sal@evergreenco.com

Staff writer: Deborah Swearingen 303-350-1042
dswearingen@evergreenco.com

Staff writer: Corinne Westeman 303-567-4491
cwesteman@evergreenco.com

Photo Editor: Sara Hertwig 303-350-1044
photos@evergreenco.com

Sports Editor: Alissa Noe 303-350-1043
sports@evergreenco.com

Contributors: John Riddell, Greg Romberg, Joe Webb, Jim Rohrer, Christie Greene, Caroline Joan Peixoto

Advertising Department
Account Executive: Kayte Walker 303-350-1046
kayte@evergreenco.com

Account Executive: Steve Moe 303-350-1045
steve@evergreenco.com

Creative Department - allgraphics@evergreenco.com
Production Manager Tom Fildey 303-350-1052

Classifieds/Legals/Circulation
Classified Representative Ruth Daniels 303-350-1036
ruth@evergreenco.com

Legal Notices:
PK Fearn 303-350-1032
legals@evergreenco.com

Circulation Manager:
Tom Fildey 303-350-1030
tfildey@evergreenco.com

Business Office
Accounts receivable: PK Fearn 303-350-1032

Delivery: 303-350-1032