Sports briefs

-A A +A
By The Staff

1979 Evergreen team to be inducted into CHSAA Hall of Fame

Chalk another win up for the 1979 Evergreen Lady Cougars’ volleyball team.
Considered one of the best volleyball programs in state history, if not the best, Evergreen’s 1979 club will be honored Jan. 29 as part of the 25th anniversary hall of fame class by the Colorado High School Activities Association. The ceremony will be held at the Red Lion Hotel in Aurora starting at 6:30 p.m.
Evergreen will be the third time to be recognized by the CHSAA Hall of Fame. The Lady Cougars won nine state titles from 1976 through 1985, including eight straight starting with the 1978 squad. The Lady Cougars also won league championships 13 times between 1972-87.
During that stretch, Evergreen High won 182 consecutive matches to rank fifth all-time according to the National High School Sports Record Book.
Members of that 1979 team included head coach Laurie “Lo” Hunter, Laurie Culp, Liz Ewy, Tanya Haave, Sue Hays, Kerry Stuhr, Lisa Tedeschi and Sandy Walker. Hunter, a 1996 CHSAA Hall of Fame inductee, coached for 35 years, including EHS volleyball from 1972-95. In that time, she had an .868 winning percentage. Between 1978-84, Evergreen won 84 consecutive matches without losing a single game.
Other inductees in this year’s class include Mesa County Schools music educator Gary Ambrosier,  former Deer Creek High athlete Tonya Beaber Hanks, Denver East alumnus Jerome Biffle,  Canon City educator Pauline Carochi, Granada High coach Manuel Gonzales, former Fairview football coach Sam Pagano, former official Bob Plank, ex-hockey coach Mike Provenzano and former Cherry Creek basketball standout Mark Randall.

Whitman, Cannon place first at third Evergreen Ice Bike race

Nate Whitman took first place in the advanced division and Nathan Cannon was the winner in the amateur category at the third Evergreen Ice Bike race on Jan. 25 at Evergreen Lake.
Clay Harris and Keith Principle took second and third place, respectively, in the advanced division. Jeff Pearson and Chris Tackett were second and third, respectively, in the amateur category. There were 34 competitors in the race, which took riders on a multiple-loop course around the 40-acre Evergreen Lake.
The event is organized by the Evergreen Park & Recreation District. The race was sponsored by Yeti Cycles, Evergreen Bicycle Outfitters, Tivoli Beer, Red Bull and Beau Jo’s Pizza.