Rosenberg, Walton, Lehman re-elected to Indian Hills fire board

-A A +A
By Sandy Barnes

Incumbent board members Marc Rosenberg, Ron Walton and Kelley Lehman will continue serving the Indian Hills Fire Protection District, according to unofficial election results posted Tuesday night.

In a close race with low voter turnout, challengers Don Schoenbein and Ty Robbins were narrowly defeated. Rosenberg came in first among candidates, with 108 votes. Lehman followed with 96 votes, and Walton received 87 votes. Schoenbein and Robbins trailed in the race, receiving 80 and 70 votes, respectively.

During his campaign, Rosenberg expressed his dedication to the fire department and his desire to continue serving on the board. Rosenberg is a certified firefighter and first responder who has been a member of the volunteer department the past 11 years, seven of which he has been a board member. He also is assistant fire chief for the department.

Rosenberg is collections and distribution manager for the wastewater treatment plant of the Evergreen Metropolitan District.

As a seasoned fire board member who has served two non-consecutive terms, Walton stressed the importance of members working together cooperatively. He also said he would like to see greater community involvement with the fire department.

Walton is a Colorado native who grew up in Denver and works as a technical engineer for Integrated Printing Solutions in the Denver Tech Center.

Kelley Lehman is a teacher at Parmalee Gulch Elementary School who has served as a member of the fire district board since 2012. She has past experience in serving on the board of a nonprofit organization.

Schoenbein is a former Indian Hills fire chief who ran for office in the wake of controversy over a failed $5 million bond issue for a new fire station. Robbins also has served as a volunteer with the fire department and expressed concern for taking care of its members during his campaign.

Contact Sandy Barnes at sandy@evergreenco.com.