Haebe best in show again

-A A +A
By Joe Vaccarelli

LITTLETON — It’s rare to see a close finish at a cross-country meet. But at the Dave Sanders Memorial Invitational on Sept. 26, the finish was as close as it gets for the Division II boys.

Ryan Haebe of Evergreen had to sprint to the finish to hold off Roblet Muhudin of Overland as spectators cheered the last hundred meters. Haebe, who won the Conifer Invitational the Cougar 5k Stride as well this past week, finished with a time 15 minutes, 50 seconds, just three seconds ahead of Muhudin.

“That was the best race of my life,” exclaimed Haebe just after the race. “(Muhudin) tried to lose me the last mile, but I always have a good kick.”

With Haebe’s victory, Evergreen’s short-handed boys squad managed a respectable fifth-place finish. Grant Hargrove finished 12th, Jack Hamilton 20th and Lincoln Grody rounded out Evergreen’s point scorers in 33rd place.

Ryan’s younger sister, Bryn, continued her solid season, placing third in the Division II girls race. Her time of 19:49 had her well under 20 minutes, although she’s looking to drop that time even lower by the end of the season.

“I’d like to get under 19 minutes,” she said.

With Bryn leading the charge, the Cougars look poised to accomplish some big things in the team realm as well.

“In regionals, we can get top-two,” Bryn said. “At state, our goal is to finish top-five. I think if we keep improving, we can definitely do that.”

Maura O’Brien was the next finisher for Evergreen, placing 11th in a time of 20:43. Genevieve London also cracked the top-20. Her time of 21:15 was good for 17th-place.

Tayler Warren finished 21st in 21:28, Grace Beaudin 33rd (22:43), Hailey Davey 37th (22:59) and Kate Thompson 40th in 23:21.

Division II Boys

5. Evergreen

1. Ryan Haebe 15:50 5:06 mile pace; 12. Grant Hargrove 17:41 5:42; 20. Jack Hamilton 18:00 5:48; 33. Lincoln Grody 18:35 5:59; 34. Justin Barr 18:36 5:59; 43. Jack Lincoln 18:45 6:02; 46. Tyler Bender 18:50 6:04

Division II Girls

3. Evergreen

3. Brynn Haebe 19:49 6:23 mile pace; 11. Maura O’Brien 20:43 6:40; 17. Genevieve London 21:15 6:51; 21. Tayler Warren 21:28 6:55; 33. Gracie Beaudin 22:43 7:19; 37. Hailey Davey 22:59 7:24; 40. Kate Thompson 23:21 7:31

Sports Editor Dan Johnson contributed to this report.