Evergreen Newspapers’ staff wins 31 awards in Colorado Press Association contest

-A A +A

The staff at Evergreen Newspapers won 13 first-place awards among a total of 31 trophies in the 2012 Better Newspaper Contest sponsored by the Colorado Press Association.

Photographer Gabriel Christus led the way with 12 awards, including five first-place honors.

Sports editor Michael Hicks placed first in three categories and won a total of six awards for editing and writing.

Canyon Courier reporter Sandy Barnes won first-place honors for environmental reporting, and contributing editor Deb Hurley Brobst won an award in the story-photo combo category for her touching portrait of a disabled student.

Editor Doug Bell won a first-place award for best serious column writing.

High Timber Times reporter Gaby Zastrocky won a total of seven awards, placing first in two categories. Her five-part series on Jeffco Schools’ proposed tax increase in last November’s election was cited for its balance and thoroughness.

Clear Creek Courant editor Ian Neligh captured a first prize in investigative reporting and second place in education writing.