3 rec district board seats up in 2010

-A A +A
By Vicky Gits

Three seats on the board of the Evergreen Park and Recreation District will be up for re-election in May. Two of the five seats will turn over in 2012.

The board members whose terms expire thus year are Kit Darrow, Roger Hoaglund and Allan Casey, president of the board. Directors Peter Eggers and Janet Heck Doyle were elected in 2008 and have terms expiring in 2012.

Darrow indicated she would submit her name for a second term.

“I’m fairly certain that I will run again,” she said. “It depends on my home life, my husband and what he’s up to. He would like me to run again.”

Allan Casey told the Courier he hadn’t decided yet whether he would run or not. Casey is completing his first term. “The spirit hasn’t moved me one way or the other,” Case said Monday, Jan. 11.

Roger Hoaglund left a voice-mail message saying he hadn’t made up his mind. Hoaglund was appointed to the board in May 2005. He first ran and was elected in May 2006 and is eligible to serve another four-year term.

To run for the board of directors, a candidate must be a registered voter and be either a resident of the district for at least 30 days or the owner or spouse of the owner of taxable real or personal property situated in the district. Directors may serve for two consecutive terms and can run for a third term after sitting out one election cycle.

Citizens interested in serving can obtain a self-nomination form at the park administration headquarters, 1521 Bergen Parkway, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 720-880-1000. Dick Wulf is the designated election official.

The May election will probably be a polling-place election. Voters are those who live within the district.

Board meetings are held monthly on Tuesdays starting at 6 p.m. Locations are either the Buchanan or the Wulf recreation center.

The deadline to submit forms is Feb. 26 at 3 p.m.

Contact Vicky Gits at vicky@evergreenco.com or 303-350-1042. Check www.CanyonCourier.com for updates.